Reading Life

My reading life is like the imagination of a young child, full of endless possibilities, wanting to experience everything. Every book that I read the back cover of, I want to experience, to know the characters, and live through the plot.

Books I’ve read this semester:

  1. Sex Lives of Cannibals
  2. Headhunters on my Doorstep
  3. Mexican Whiteboy
  4. Ella Minnow Pea
  5. Room
  6. Let the Great World Spin
  7. Pride &Prejudice
  8. What the Dog Saw
  9. Better Off Friends
  10. Romiette and Julio
  11. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time
  12. An Invisible Thread

 

 

Room was an amazing book, written from the point of view from a child who grew up in a small room because of his mother’s kidnapper seven years earlier. It showed a different side to abduction situations by writing from a child’s point of view and using simple language, as well as referring to nouns, such as room, as if they were people, like Room.

Mexican Whiteboy is another great book. It is about an amazing baseball player who feels like he can’t belong because of his skin color. His nerves get to him on the baseball mound, when he’s around whiteboys, and because of this he doesn’t make the team. The book takes you through his journey of living with his Mexican family for the summer, and learning how to control his nerves. This book helped me learn to not be nervous before volleyball games; it was very empowering.

Other books I enjoyed were: let the Great World Spin, Better Off Friends, and Sex Lives of Cannibals.

                                                     

At the beginning of the school year, I said that I would read 21 books. Right now I am a little over halfway there, so I believe I will make my year goal.

I Checked out a few books for reading over the break: Redeeming Love, P.S. I Love You, Of Mice and Men, One Day , and Nicholas Sparks’ At First Sight and True Believer (See the romance pattern?)

One thought on “Reading Life

  1. The variety in your reading list is impressive. You’ve read somewhat simple reads to much more complex ones. This is a great way to enrich your reading life and build your reading fluency. I do see the romance pattern in the books you borrowed to read over the break– except for Of Mice and Men. Eek. If you read P.S. I Love You, you should really rent the movie. Gerard Butler is like so perfect as the male lead. 🙂

    I am proud of your reading, Keely. Keep at it! Perhaps for spring semester, you might consider reading from my AP box. (Someday I will get another bookshelf.)

Leave a Reply

