The Superwoman of Neurology

The immediate purpose of Jane Leavy in “The Woman Who Would Save Football” is to praise and enlighten the reader of McKee’s discoveries. Many scientists are shown in this article to think very highly of McKee, such as “Eleanor Perfetto” who reffered to McKee as “a brilliant scientist who happens to be a little blonde bombshell”. Her discoveries “see beyond” many athlete’s terrible injuries and “grasp the importance of aesthetics in changing public opinion” on what is really killing them.

The bigger picture of this article is that everything isn’t always what it seems from the outside. McKee has to look inside people’s brains and unravel the mystery of what happened to them, what sports they played, or what explosions trhey were in a close proximity to and how these impacts affected their brains. From the outside most people could only see “Joe Theismann’s splintered tibia, or Bo Jackson’s necrotic hip,” but McKee saw through them to their brains and their underlying conditions.

The author conveys her purpose through many, many examples of how McKee loves the sport and how her research is helping to save football. I thought that this article was very redundant and drawn out. The message could have easily been conveyed in a much shorter amount of pages, and without all the personal fluff. In this article I learned how easily a brain can be affected and how dramatically.This surprised me because I thought the head and the helmets used in sports would protect their heads more than they do. Another thing that surprised me is that in soccer head injuries can be caused as easily as headbutting a ball into the goal. This article connects to me because I get hit in the head in every single sport I play. My head is like a ball magnet, and this article showed me that I need to be a lot more careful, especially since I broke my nose.

One thought on “The Superwoman of Neurology

Leave a Reply

